Somalia has been added to the UK’s red list

Somalia has been added to the UK’s red list
Somalia has been added to the UK’s red list

The UK government has added Qatar, Oman, Ethiopia and Somalia to England’s red list. A ban on commercial and private planes travelling from these countries will come into force from 4am on March 19. As the government aims to prevent new variants of Covid-19 from entering the country, new rules have been put into place for visitors.

Visitors who have transited through a red list country in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England. British, Irish and third-country nationals with residence rights (including long-term visa holders) arriving from these countries will be required to quarantine in a government-approved hotel quarantine facility for 10 days. The cost of quarantining in a hotel is £1,750 for a single passenger. The cost covers the hotel, transport and Covid-19 tests.

Passengers have been given 82 hours warning of the new rules. After the United Arab Emirates was added to the red list, Qatar became one of the leading sources of passengers to London Heathrow airport. The addition of Qatar will affect many passengers who would have used it for transiting between countries.

Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores) and Mauritius will be removed from England’s red list. Other countries on the red list include Brazil and South Africa where new variants of Covid-19 have been detected.

So far, the UK has administered more than 24 million Covid-19 vaccines. It aims to have administered 32 million doses of the vaccine by April 15.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.